Is She Worth It?

robin-hood-prince-of-thieves-1991-720p-brrip-h264-aac-mp4_snapshot_02-18-00_2012-02-09_00-38-56

“Is she worth it”?

That is the question that Azeem asks Robin Hood as they are about to catapault over the wall so he can rescue Maid Miriam. Robin Hood’s answer is simple as he responds, “Worth dying for.”

That may be the one of my favorite lines from the movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, and trust me, I can quote most of it. This movie is hands-down my favorite movie of all time, and also ranks number 1 as Alan Rickman’s best movie (with the second being the Harry Potter series). The question that Azeem asks Robin Hood at this point in the movie is a repeat question that Robin Hood proposes concerning how Azeem was thrown into prison, and Azeem declares that the woman for which he paid a great price, as totally worth him being thrown into prison and possibly losing his life, simply put, she was worth dying for.

I’ve spent a tremendous amount of time lately thinking about what it means to be in love. Some of the books that are currently on my nightstand focus on building relationships and there are a few chapters regarding love and marriage. It has caused me to reflect on my previous dating relationships and I’ve developed a greater appreciation for all of the couples that have been able to stick together through the hardships and trials of life.

I have a confession: I’m not perfect. I know, it’s a shock, but I can be kind of a jerk. I’ve always told myself that it’s okay to be a jerk as long as you do it with a smile, but deep down I know that is not true. It’s something I desperately need to work on.

I’m picky. Picky when it comes to the girls that I want to date for longer than two weeks. It’s a blessing and a curse. I think up until my 28th birthday I didn’t know exactly what I wanted and I wasn’t mature enough or ready to settle down; which caused me to focus on the wrong types of girls to date. But enough about all of that, my blog post is not for you to psycho-analyze me. I’ll pay for that advice; I don’t want it to be free.

The truth is, I’m looking for love. I always have. I thought I knew what I was looking for, and I often found it in the arms of a woman, a new hobby, or school. But it never really satisfied me. Deep down I was still unsatisfied.

This past week I have not been able to get the song Higher Love out of my head. I was driving home from work and I turned on the radio, which is incredibly out of character for me, as I spend a lot of time listening to podcasts. Free plug: Serial, Freakonomics, The Experience Community and The Village Church are some of the ones that I can’t get enough of. However, Higher Love began playing on the radio and I stopped browsing through the stations because of the sweet 80’s feel that the song has.

While it was the beat and the rhythm that got my attention, it was the lyrics that have changed my perspective. Allow me to steal the first verse and chorus:

Think about it, there must be higher love
Down in the heart or hidden in the stars above
Without it, life is a wasted time
Look inside your heart, I’ll look inside mine
Things look so bad everywhere
In this whole world, what is fair?
We walk blind and we try to see
Falling behind in what could be
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

Powerful lyrics. I started to research the meaning behind the song and found out that the song was actually written by Will Jennings, who was the son of a Methodist circuit preacher. Will made it no secret that the song had a double meaning, as he was not only looking for love on this earth, but a love that was greater than any love he had ever known, a love reminiscent of what his father used to preach to his congregations.

Humans are engineered to love. We might have events in our life where people do us wrong and we begin to build walls, but that is not in our nature from birth. Yesterday I was holding a friend’s little baby girl and I could look into her eyes and just see the purity, innocence and love that radiates from this little girl. She doesn’t know any better. She’s just showing love.

There are times that I get frustrated with where I’m at in life. I thought by 29 that I would have a family,  a career and a dog. I guess 2 out of 3 isn’t bad. But that’s what I’m trying to tell you, is that I’ve been thinking all along that the family that I want is really a substitute for the love that I desire. 

“The greatest love you can show is to give your life for your friends.”

John 15:13

A few chapters earlier in John 3:16;

“God loved the world this way: He gave his only Son so that everyone who believes in him will not die but will have eternal life.”

The past year has been a year of transition for me, as I’ve begun to find the love that I’ve been looking for all along. I’m not satisfied, as Will Jenning’s lyrics hit home with my heart constantly singing:

“Where is that higher love, that I keep thinking of?”

This quote does have a little bit of a double meaning, it does play into my dating life, as I’m failing to find that love on social media apps such as Tinder and Bumble. But I know that there is something greater. To know Christ’s love passes all knowledge and understanding. In reality, His love is so great that I can’t even begin to comprehend it. But I know it’s out there, and I desperately want to have more of it in my life. I want to pursue it. Why? Because that’s the void in my life, I don’t feel complete without it.

Without Christ’s love playing a signficant role in my life, I am unable to really love people (remember me confessing that I’m kind of a jerk?). I need His love in order to reflect that love back out to all of my interactions with my family, friends, coworkers, and the people I talk to on a daily basis. I just want to show love.

Remember when Robin Hood stated that “She was worth it?” Well, Christ made that same statement for me, for you. Picture him on the cross, He looks up and says, “Father, forgive them for they don’t know what they are doing…” He didn’t curse, throw insults, or promise vengeance. He asked for forgiveness for the people that had wronged Him. Simply put, Christ was saying that all of the pain and suffering that He went through was worth it.

I was worth it. You were worth it.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is She Worth It?

  1. Anita James says:

    Good words Kris. You know how to find the higher God love…..the right girl for you, that’s still a mystery to me, even after 40+ years of marriage. I think it comes when you least expect it 🙂

  2. melissabhawks says:

    A. You should write more. B. Bullseye.

Leave a Reply

